Necoro’s Blog

Blog? Blog? There is no blog…

My own online feed reader

with one comment

I use different computers to read my RSS feeds (at least one PC and two laptops …) – sometimes I want to read them also if I’m surfing with someone other’s computer. Thus a desktop reader like akregator or liferea, or a browser plugin is definitely not what I need. Additionally, I have different feeds (e.g. Spiegel Online) which only put 20 entries in their feed, but produce about 100 entries per day. Hence, if you use a desktop reader which is not connected 24 hours a day (none of my computers is), you’ll definitely miss entries.

Result: Something web based, running all day long and being accessible from everywhere. There are lots of sites offering this service: Bloglines and Google Reader being the best known ones – or Alesti, which I used to use. But Alesti often had technical issues and lacked several features (“searching” being the most important one). And I was not able to find a good replacement (I try to not use Google services at all). So for quite some time now, I looked for something, which I can put on my own webspace.

And finally — someone pointed me to Tiny Tiny RSS. Et voilà: I managed to install and configure it – and it runs :). I had several issues to make it update the feeds though: This is managed by a cron job, but – as I own a small old-school webspace only – I can’t start my own services or mess around with cron directly, but have to rely on what Confixx offers. But well … it works now, and I am happy.

So … the title of this post could have also been: Goodbye Alesti

Hope I can stick with my current solution :).

Written by Necoro

May 14, 2009 at 23:32

Posted in Blahblah

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, necoro!
    It seems I’m writing the first comment on your blog.
    I’d like to say you that your feeds are in my (offline) reader. So: go on with your post!
    I used Google reader to have an online RSS reader and it seems a good reader to me.
    Bye.

    Spiros

    June 16, 2009 at 15:57


Leave a Reply

